A meditation on the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival : 1975-2015

phonaesthetica

fest

The nutloaf was nutty. The drumming was drummy. I bought a dykey leather bracelet, got my period, howled like a wolf, showered in the open air and woke up in a tent underneath several inches of water during a thunderstorm. I washed dishes in a communal trough and let a silky wolf spider shimmy up my arm. I felt Lisa Vogel’s true love for each one of us in the fireworks show on Saturday at Night Stage.

It was Fest. It was the last Fest.

Before I left, I rubbed my new bracelet in the dirt and on the bark of trees in an effort to take the Land back with me. I tore off a piece of a fern, put it in my mouth, chewed, and swallowed.

I’m in the denial stage of grief: Lisa will hear our pain; feel our need; change her mind, I keep thinking. And…

View original post 489 more words

One thought on “A meditation on the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival : 1975-2015

  1. I am so saddened that this place is no more, and I never even got to go. Hell, I didn’t even know about it till last year. Any ladies that want to recreate something similar, I’m down. I don’t have a ton of money, but I’m passionate and dedicated and I want this. Contact me!

Leave a Reply

